The Goldenpuff Girls

Greetings, Citizens of the Universe!

tumblr_nggw9ms6sp1qcpyt7o1_1280

Back on Cirno Day, I unveiled the 9th Gen. Last Saturday, I unveiled he 10th and 11th Gen. Now, today, we spotlight the 12th Generation before they become senpai in a few days.

After the 9th Gen had their fates decided in January/February and the 10th (and 11th) in February/March, March/April was the time where the 12th Gen got their looks decided.

Expect to see a lot of white in this post because of… well, the way the outfits were designed. I actually like this coincidence as I needed a breather after the really strenuous 10th/11th Gen. (Yes, even Sakura gave me trouble because her “simple” outfit had a lot of subtleties. Then again, I’m reminded of something I was told in my Freshman art class in high school: “the simpler the design, the harder it is to draw.” A perfect summary of this series, yes?!)

Anyway…

Nonaka Miki – Tsumetai Kaze to Kataomoi

Well, when the results came pit, the winner was clear: the English speaker Nonaka Miki won Favorite Member and Tsumetai Kaze to Kataomoi took Favorite MV, both with 3 votes.

powerpuffmusume16_nonakamiki

Nonaka Miki – Tsumetai Kaze to Kataomoi

Choosing a pose for this one was a bit tricky. However, I settled for one from near the end of the MV. It was a tricky one to do, due to the style nor affording a lot in terms of foreshortening.

I am grateful that while the little decorations on her midriff were problematic, the overall design was simple.

Makino Maria – Oh my wish!

Makino Maria and Haga Akane were both tied in the middle with 2 votes. Eventually, Maria got top billing with one vote in the second redux. Plus…

(Even without the one vote, Maria would’ve won as she won the toss that was held as a contingency plan.)

As for her outfit, Oh my wish! won its silver medal tiebreaker, leaving the other A-sides to fight it out in more polls. (More on that later.)

powerpuffmusume16_makinomaria

Makino Maria – Oh my wish!

I know I skipped some things, but it was becoming apparent I was tiring out from this series. (Consider yourselves lucky if you don’t talk with me regularly on Skype. I… was a bit of a monster. Then again, that’s what happens when you work on a project practically non-stop for days on end! At least I made tweaked the designs and had the girls smiling. Their references had them poker-faced and serious!)

Haga Akane – Yuugure wa Ameagari

Akanechin shared the middle portion with Maria, whom she lost to become third in this portion.

As for her outfit, it’s Yuugure wa Ameagari due to a technicality:

While both A-sides received 0 votes in the Faith Girl (10th Gen) poll, Yuugure wa Ameagari received one vote in the Ice Fairy (9th Gen) poll.

powerpuffmusume16_hagaakane

Haga Akane – Yuugure wa Ameagari

Like Miki and Maria, her outfit was almost entirely white. This made it a breeze (despite my stress) as I didn’t rally have time to recover. However, her pose was a somewhat strange one to do, but you’ve come to expect that of me at this point.

Ogata Haruna – Seishun Kozou ga Naiteiru

Like Nonaka Miki, Ogata Haruna took a clear spot among the 12th Gen. Unlike Nonaka-chan, it was at the opposite end.

As explained above, Haru-O’s outfit became Seishun Kozou ga Naiteru due to the technicality involving Akanechin’s look.

Ogata Haruna - Seishun Kozou ga Naiteiru

Ogata Haruna – Seishun Kozou ga Naiteiru

Now, given the fact I was crunched down by a deadline, I do admit that Haruna’s not as shiny as she should be. However, the general design is there. Her hands were the problem child this time, not helped by the fact I was using members other than her as a model (one of them being her senpai and their parts seemed to melt into each other in the reference shot).

Final Thoughts

Phew… it feels so good to finally finish this series. The amount of stress I was under was staggering (and I don’t get a break).

Speaking of breaks!

n9pf7n1

Anyway… thank you so much for your support throughout this entire series.

It literally wouldn’t be possible without you guys. Here’s looking forward to the future (like the 13th Gen)!

Stay golden!
— Magi-Kat

2 Responses to The Goldenpuff Girls

  1. Chanting says:

    EEee! All the Musume Powerpuffs! They all look so cute in this style. Plus I think the costumes they got in the end all kind of fit them well (coincidence??? XD).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] I am finally glad to have this series behind me. You click on one of the soap bubbles below to get a closer look at your oshi or see each generation in detail: 9 • 10/11 • 12. […]

    Like

Have something to say?

