The Faithpuff Girls and the Barefaced Divapuff

Greetings, Citizens of the Universe!

Here we are, the next batch of the Powerpuff Musume ’16 project. I know it’s been more than two months and I’ve apologized far too much… so let’s get into it.

As mentioned in a previous update (or a previous post), I started sketching out of order with Sakura going first, followed by the Harus.

Kudo Haruka – One and Only

Powerpuff Musume '16 - Kudo Haruka

Kudo Haruka – One and Only

Kudo Haruka gained 4 votes in the 10th Gen Ingredients Selection Poll (which started simultaneously to the 9th Gen tiebreakers) to clinch first place. A funny thing happened involving the outfits though:

Due to lack of foresight, I didn’t delete the “repeat choices” of the previous poll from this one. (This did help as it settled the situation with Mizuki’s outfit.) However, this meant that I had to discount certain choices, including the winning one: Sukatto My Heart with 5 votes (63%).

This also means that the runner-up is the technical winner: One and Only with 4 votes (50%).

This, of course, means that Kuduu’s outfit in the series will be from One and Only. Congrats to you, especially after the big Houston concert.

From the get-go, I wanted Kuduu’s image to be as (close to) perfect as possible. You see, I kinda got the sneaking suspicion that she’s not just the most popular member of her generation, but possibly of the entire lineup! (I was surprised yet not so much when I saw Kuduu take the lead… and Masaki be in last place as I had also gotten the impression in the past that she was popular. Then again, who knows?)

To this end, I charged my friends (and myself) with scrutinizing the details of the pic, from the anatomy to the trueness to the design. However, this might’ve been the most difficult of the quintet for one reason… the plaid.

Yes, the plaid. I could’ve drawn it all separately but I thought making a separate plaid “template” and transforming it might’ve been better. …It was still easier said than done.

The things I do for you fans… :’)

(On another note, I kinda liked how the stars (thanks to a layer effect) somewhat resemble the stars on Dragon Balls…. Then again, I’m surrounded by Dragonball Z/Super fans and I admit an affection for Dragonball, Z Kai (if only because of the aforementioned series), GT (*dodges projectiles* my favorite DB character at the time got a lot of screentime in it!), and Super (up until the current arc *dodges more projectiles*).

Oy, you guys take this stuff far too seriously! It’s just a show, guys. You really should just relax. (On that note, I extend that to the H!P fandom… and the Sonic fandom that familiarized me with similar fracturization.)

Let’s lighten up (or should I say “sweeten up”) the mood, hmm? Next is….

Iikubo Haruna – Ima Koko Kara

Iikubo Haruna - Ima Koko Kara

Iikubo Haruna – Ima Koko Kara

Iikubo Haruna was the runner-up in the Ingredients Poll with 3 votes to her name.

The fashion situation was not as clear as Iikubo (as the runner-up) would have her outfit selected from the “three vote” set. It was either Ima Koko Kara or ENDLESS SKY. Ima Koko Kara won out with two Twitter votes while ENDLESS SKY received none.

Haruna didn’t give me that much trouble, though her neck was too long in the sketch. (Yes, I know necks aren’t a “true” part of the style, but my style breaks a lot of rules as it is. Plus, as you can kinda tell, it’s hard to truly pin down these outfits without necks!) Another source of trouble was the colors and getting things to look right.

As I did this, I remembered why I did this series: to give mysef something more “fun” than the past few projects (along with something I can post immediately after finishing, unlike the aforementioned projects)

Still, despite the hiccups along the way, this was quite fun and sweet… like honey. Her pose was a tad difficult, if only due to the angle. (Plus, it means there’s not much of the outfit to show…)

Ishida Ayumi – ENDLESS SKY

Powerpuff Musume '16 - Ishida Ayumi

Ishida Ayumi – ENDLESS SKY

Ayumi and Masaki each received two votes in the Ingredients Polls. They were then locked in combat for two Twitter polls, until Daaishi took the bronze with two votes in the redux.

As for her fashion, it was explained in the previous section: Ayumi recieved the losing outfit of the 3-Vote Set, ENDLESS SKY.

I worked on Ayumi roughly the same time as Masaki… and it took a while for a similar reason as Kudo’s image — I decided to try to replicate the pattern on her outfit and try to wrap it to her figure.

On another note, Daaishi has the most difficult post to get, primarily due to what pose I decided to reference. It’d be distinct if I was doing it with my normal style, but due to how the arms of “wet sandbags” in the PPG style (though it’s more tubelike in my style), but… I think I accomplished it. You see, it’s stuff like this that made the 10th Gen take as long as they did.

Sato Masaki – Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki

Powerpuff Musume '16 - Sato Masaki

Sato Masaki – Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki

Masaki, Masaki, Masaki… you always seemed to get the short-end of the stick.

You came in dead last in your polls no matter what and on top of all that, your outfit was chosen through convoluted methods. There was even a poll to decide what can be in your poll, due to a technicality.

In the end, Ima Sugu Tobikomu Yuuki won out in the end, a fittingly named song for a time like this.

I was truly delighted with Masaki’s pose, even if her hairpiece became a bit troublesome to gather. Starting with this one, I began to utilize some “gauzy” techniques to replicate the transparent fabric. (Yeah, H!P is great for that.)

Either way, one thing I forgot to mention with Ayumi’s section is that at this point, due to the names of some of the brushes and how the pics’ backgrounds were coming out, I decided to work with a space-theme with this series. Hey, they’re pretty much posing in space as it is so might as well take it to its conclusion.

This is especially fitting given the next piece…

Oda Sakura – Toki wo Koe Sora wo Koe

Powerpuff Musume '16 - Oda Sakura

Oda Sakura – Toki wo Koe Sora wo Koe

Thanks to technicalities (not to mention the fact that there was little point to hold such polls), Sakura pretty much ended up with the scraps of the 10th Gen audition. (Sorry, Odasaku fans. I’d be considered a “daredemo/minna daisuki” type to some anyway.)

Oda was among the first of this batch to be finished on account of how her chosen outfit’s single was hard to sit through for me. After the hell 3/4 of the 10th Gen put me through, I was actually glad I picked a more subdued pose. (It barely helps that (from what I’ve seen of the main MV) the dance is somewhat subdued to begin with, suiting the song.

1011thgen_brain

Final Thoughts

Wow… was this series a ride. I still commend myself on getting it done in time. Still, this portion of the series (due to the costumes chosen and a stylistic choice on my part) is probably among the most experimental of my pieces yet. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did making them (even if it was as stressful as it was fun).

Next time is the 12th Gen!

Stay faithfully barefaced!
— Magi-Kat

P.S. This week, there’s three M3 Mysteries: Momusu’s 13th Gen, Sayumi’s Comeback, and Momoko’s graduation.

4 Responses to The Faithpuff Girls and the Barefaced Divapuff

  1. Chanting says:

    I think all the 10th gens turned out well, despite how much trouble Masakinns was for you ^^” The final product you had for Masaki was fitting, even the outfit and the song they had for said outfit.

    My fav is probably Masaki and Iikubo because their personalities came through in those too. That said, I liked what you did with Sakura, Ayumi and Kuduu’s outfits, to get some shadow/shade in there other than the patterns. Those were nice touches 😀

    Like

  2. […] P.S. Yes, I forgot to schedule this for last week. As you might’ve seen, I was busy with other things…. […]

    Like

  3. […] on Cirno Day, I unveiled the 9th Gen. Last Saturday, I unveiled he 10th and 11th Gen. Now, today, we spotlight the 12th Generation before they become senpai in a few […]

    Like

  4. […] of the soap bubbles below to get a closer look at your oshi or see each generation in detail: 9 • 10/11 […]

    Like

Have something to say?

