Notice About M3’s 10th Anniversary: Comic Relief

Greetings, Citizens of the Universe!

This is a follow-up to the anniversary post on Sunday. I had intended to have this announcement be beefier, but I was selected to work on a special comic project that divided my attention for a good portion of the month. The rest of the month was spent balancing out the other things (which is one reason said post seems a tad scant compared to the other anniversary posts).

At the very least, I can come clean (to some extent) about the other project I’ve been talking about on and off long before then.

If you follow me on Instagram (which you totally should btw), then you may have come across the below post:

Well, what does that have to do with anything? Well, my big plan to celebrate M3’s 10th anniversary is to do with a four-issue miniseries that explores May-May’s backstory and character. As for the intended update schedule, I had hoped that updates coincided with blog posts (at least on a weekly basis)…

  • January 6-March 21 (Tuesdays and Fridays)
  • April 24-June 20 (Mondays and Tuesdays)
  • July 14-September 19 (Tuesdays and Fridays)
  • October 13-December 13 (Wednesdays and Fridays)

However, I must regretfully admit that there is a chance there’ll be delays. (Thankfully, the anniversary itself in October….)

A good portion of the year was spent drafting the plot of the series, researching various aspects (hence me asking you lot about manga/anime and comics. Thank you for your input!), and figuring out some big problems… which I’ll outline now.

Problem #1: Personality

One obvious one was the fact that when you get down to it, May-May lacks a distinct personality. How can you give a personality to a malleable mascot who is meant to embody a music blog where despite its focus on H!P, its topics can change?

Well, I’m not going to spoil my answer too much in that regard (the obvious exception being to the Opus Group and whoever will be my Secret Santa there), but I’m curious as to yours.

Problem #2: Hosting

One issue I’m dealing with now is hosting. I’m thinking of having it on Tumblr, but then issues with Disqus might hinder any chances of a decent comment section.

But Kath, there’s a multitude of comic sites besides Tumblr and WordPress. Why them? Have you been searching around?

About that… Reason Tumblr or WordPress are at the top of my lists is because a good portion of my base is already there. I also know that (at least with the former) there is already a good portion of people interested in idols and webcomics.

(I know people also host webcomics on WordPress.com, but those people tend to be the sort you’d fish around for. At least… I’m more likely to see webcomics on self-hosted WordPress (WordPress.org) sites than WordPress-hosted ones. A good portion of the webcomics I currently read (Sister Claire, Namesake, etc) began along that path.)

While one purpose of the mini is to promote the blog the potential new readers, I’d rather be a bit more focused in that regard and start small. (I also would like not exert too much energy in joining more sites as I have enough on my plate as it is.)

Closing Thoughts

Regardless, I hope for a 2017 online release in some form or another and it’ll be quite a challenge balancing this with regular blogging and art projects. (As previously mentioned, I have another comic project and the Opus Group Secret Santa project to contend with, in addition to another Secret Santa project, the rest of the Powerpuff Musume ’16 project, and the backlog of posts for the blog.)

I thank you for your support and patience and look forward to the future with you!

— Magi-Kat

One Response to Notice About M3’s 10th Anniversary: Comic Relief

Have something to say?

