WAFNA~! C-ute’s Disbanding. O Fortuna…

I bemoan the wounds of Fortune
with weeping eyes,
for the gifts she made me
she perversely takes away

Greetings, Citizens of the Universe!

Well, as promised from last week’s post, here is the proper take on C-ute’s announcement.

Profile-cute-20160322

Now, let’s turn back the clock to August 19 and the beginning of my birthday weekend. (If you want to know, it was that Sunday.) It got off to an interesting start with a bus accident that dominated the news if you were a New Jersey resident.

Later on that afternoon, the rumor mill was spinning again with the possibility of C-ute disbanding. Now I decided to put in my two cents regarding the topic and it can be summed up as this: I’ll believe it when I see it. As a blogger, I “have” a little more clout than the average fan so I have a responsibility to report with a clear head and cut through the noise. There is enough speculation to go around and I don’t feel it’s really appropriate to fill up my space with it, especially given how meltdown-prone nerddom has been lately. Apparently, Fortuna and the Up-Front Staff have heard me and an hour later my “rant,” an official announcement was posted confirming the rumors.

Despite the fact I’ve been in the Hello Project fandom for over a decade (13 come November) and knew that an announcement like this would come, I was surprised. I’m not going to throw shade at the Berryz or engage in cliquey nonsense (look at the Hello! Pro Confessions Tumblr for that) or anything like that. Consider me an “unenlightened” Pollyanna for not trying to find possible behind-the-scenes reasons behind the decision.

Why? No amount of speculation will change the fact that it’s happening. You can say it’s bull excrement or whatever, but it’s happening. Gosh, now I’m reminded of “Ego sum abbas” from Carl Orff’s Carmina Burana (particularly the last portion seen below):

Lyrics and translation can be found here

Wafna, wafna!
quid fecisti, Sors turpissima? (What have you done, vilest Fate?)
nostrae vitae gaudia (The joys of my life)
abstulisti omnia! (you have taken all away!)

C-ute fans, remember: just because C-ute is gone doesn’t mean their music and impact is gone as well. If anything, their expansive backlog provides a wealth of musical gems to enjoy (even in the form of their successors, as was the case for years). For example, look to “the rival camp”:

[https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KnePGXkEf4c] (Removed by YouTube just in time for this post to be published!)

Yes, I used this for an M3 Mystery, but it was relevant then and it is now!

Plus, regardless of whatever caused the disbandment, this is all the more reason to enjoy the time you have. What’s the point of… eh, you get it.

Love me faithfully!
See how I am faithful:
With all my heart
and with all my soul,
I am with you
Even when I am far away.
Whoever loves this much
turns on the wheel.

In the back of my mind, C-ute was going to change. Either they were going to go the route of the Berryz and dissolve or leave the Project or whatever, I knew that times were changing for the group. They’re the most senior group in terms of membership tenure. (Morning Musume as an entity may be reaching the Japanese legal age, but its most senior current member has only been in the group since 2011 — and in H!P period since 2008.) As much as they love to turn their merry spring faces to the world on stage (enough to dedicate practically their entire lives to it), I’m sure they want to explore other avenues.

In fact, chanting-to-u has a beautiful post (which admittedly enough is a response to an M3 Mystery) that brings up a lot of good points and perspectives.

Like chanting said, at least C-ute is leaving on a high note (even if they’re addled with a scandal) with a legacy to match. Take solace in the fact that those glorious Venuses left a mark so huge that this very announcement caused the media news machine to turn. There’s scores of idol groups who are a blip on the radar and yet C-ute made enough of a connection that the mere possibility of a breakup made the J-pop world murmur. Did I mention that this came roughly a week (going by Eastern US reckoning here) after SMAP announced their disbandment?!

How did that freaky Friday end? In the evening, it was announced… well…

(That video is the perfect summary of the initial reaction to the news.)

Don’t lose control over your life~!
(Or just stay hungry for pudding, for goodness’ sakes….)
— Magi-Kat

Fate is against me in health and virtue,
driven on and weighted down, always enslaved.
So at this hour without delay
pluck the vibrating strings;
since Fate strikes down the strong man,
everyone weep with me!

P.S.

7 Responses to WAFNA~! C-ute’s Disbanding. O Fortuna…

  1. […] Then there’s also the real possibility that I’ll have to organize a “memorial survey” for C-ute (for obvious reasons). […]

    Like

  2. […] came in a summer filled with promotions, graduations, “training completions,” and a disbandment (or […]

    Like

  3. Chanting says:

    Eeee! Thanks for the shoutout! 🙂

    C-ute definitely have a legacy of good music behind them, and I wish them all the best post-disbandment.

    You’re right too, that they are deemed important enough by Japanese media to highlight their disbandment, even though it was around the time SMAP also announced theirs. I thought C-ute’s disbandment will be drowned from all the tears and chaos Japanese public had for SMAP.

    Like

  4. […] euphoria was not to last as two J-pop legends announced their disbandment within days: SMAP and C-ute. The mood was hopefully lightened by the 2016 Ice Fairy Festival, the linchpin post of which also […]

    Like

  5. […] Sayumi’s return to showbiz come 2017. On the latter, we have the disbandments of SMAP and C-ute (the former happening this very week!), along with the graduation of Tsugunaga Momoko. Both her […]

    Like

  6. […] the backlog of posts involving their juniors (namely Country Girls, ANGERME, and Juice=Juice) and their imminent demise, it’s hard to believe we’ve come to this point in […]

    Like

  7. […] been a long, long road, but we’re finally (!) here. It feels like almost a year, right? C-ute announced their disbandment, a desire to pursue other dreams, in August 2016. The send-offs […]

    Like

Have something to say?

