La roi est muet, vive le roi !

[4/7/2015 1:26:39 AM | Edited 1:26:58 AM] Kathryn Barnes: Now I have a _new_ monkey wrench thrown in my blogging mojo:

Remember when I asked how you would feel if a producer of a group you follow had his vocal chords removed?
[4/7/2015 1:27:21 AM] Popsicle Frost (Lem): Barely…Did they actually do it?
[4/7/2015 1:28:35 AM] Kathryn Barnes: http://idolminded.com/
[4/7/2015 1:29:59 AM] Popsicle Frost (Lem): 😦 That’s so sad…But, I hope he keeps truckin’ on like Beethoven and making tunes just like he did.
[4/7/2015 1:36:57 AM] Kathryn Barnes: This… This is a big shock to me.

If I may… One of my deepest fears is going blind. There are times when I fear that I am, even with my myopia. I also fear going deaf, which would lave me unable to enjoy art and music.

I also fear not being able to move. I’m just a big ball of fears.

One of my greatest fears is going insane. I dread the day that I lose complete touch with reality and in act, my “everybody is crazy” philosophy is partially a way of coping with that fear.
[4/7/2015 1:38:02 AM] Kathryn Barnes: When I saw winds of this on Twitter, I didn’t want to believe it. It was before April so I believed it was an early April Fools prank.

Sadly, it isn’t. Tsunku’s voice is gone, lost to cancer. Granted, he can still compose music and whatnot, but he a never speak again… and can never sing again.
[4/7/2015 1:38:17 AM] Popsicle Frost (Lem): 😦

The preceding was an excerpt from a Skype conversation I had one night (posted with my friend’s permission of course), my near-immediate reaction when I found out the news. I had just finished the post about the PV controversy (which was killing my ability to work on the rest of the Berryz Memorial Survey posts).

Another chapter has begun in the “Tsunku Cancer” saga that has gripped the Hello Project fandom and the idol world. The following links provided the initial news and reaction:

If you’ve read my comment on the last link and are wondering what I meant about “the other tragedies,” allow me to elaborate:

  • In January, Tangerine Dream fans and the entire electronic music (and music) scene mourned the loss of founder Edgar Froese. He was 92 and died of an embolism. Froese was also the last remaining original member. Tangerine Dream was a part of my life, virtually my entire life. Like H!P, the music of Tangerine Dream sparked my imagination and provided sonic food to my mind. I even aspire to his (and Yamino‘s) level of creativity and prolificacy.
  • In February, the Internet mourned the loss of Monty Oum, responsible for Red vs. Blue and RWBY. Rooster Teeth didn’t post anything that day and countless tributes poured in. The truly terrifying thing is that he died of a severe allergic reaction. I enjoyed RWBY and have been meaning to catch up on Season 2 now that it’s out.
  • In March, the Alan Parsons Project community mourned the loss of Chris Rainbow, one of many singers who gave his voice to the music. One of my favorite songs, which is helping sculpt a chapter in one of my comics, is the title song (or songs since it’s a two-parter) to the 1980 album A Turn of a Friendly Card.

Granted, I dread the day when Tsunku passes from this world, going past the Edge into his Glory. It’s on the back of my mind during this entire thing. Tsunku is every bit as human–and thus, mortal–as any of us so he will end up dying one day. It’s a matter of when.

It does not have to be like this…

Then again, if Stephen Hawking can outlive his doctor’s life expectancy, so can he. The fact he’s taking this so well (on the surface) is something to admire.

This is a new test in the Hello! Project fandom and the entire J-pop world. As Evolution said, “adapt or perish.” Tsunku’s adapting and so shall we.

Like the Little Mermaid, he gave up his voice to be able to stand on his feet again, all for the sake of something intangibly precious: his life. Who can blame him? We value his life and someone pointed out that it was after Beethoven became deaf that he crafted his masterpieces. Perhaps now, we’ll truly see his artistry at work. (Indeed, prior to forming his band and the family it created, Edgar Froese lost his family and possessions to World War II. My dad said that it sometimes takes a great loss to create immense art.)

Long live Tsunku!

To quote Stephen Hawking in a Pink Floyd song that has become a bit painful to hear these days:

…All we need to do is make sure we keep talking.

[4/7/2015 2:02:36 AM] Kathryn Barnes: Like Tsunku, I will keep on trucking. I’ll find a way to live.

If he can find a way to srvive, so can I!
[4/7/2015 2:02:56 AM] Popsicle Frost (Lem): Something something survive, hey hey!

Until next time,
–Magi-Kat

P.S.S. the blog’s 100th post is coming. See this masterpost on Kathartic Bohemia for ways you can contribute.

4 Responses to La roi est muet, vive le roi !

  1. isilwentari says:

    I am completely with you. He’s showing us a lot of bravery right now. I feel like he’s stubborn as it is; something like this will only briefly slow him down and then once he figures things out, creates a way forward, off he’ll run. I can’t imagine H!P without Tsunku. I love the Little Mermaid analogy btw. 😉 Very true.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] thinking of making a post about loss in light of a tragedy affecting the video game community, one the J-idol community came dangerously close to having themselves. I’m almost at tears (again) just thinking about it. This song isn’t helping […]

    Like

  3. […] their quirky ways. For starters, I took a look at a fandom “controversy” and discussed Tsunku’s vocal chords. Furthermore, I celebrated 100 posts in this iteration of M3. (For reference, there were 21 posts […]

    Like

Have something to say?

