Morning PreCure

Greetings, Citizens of the Universe!

This broadcast is brought to you by the following image, courtesy of the now-deactivated Tumblr blog helloprolovehate:


Fast forward to February where the above image achieves prophetic status. It’s not exactly Sailor Moon, but it’s pretty close…

10959499_828205903904995_8661804968427497930_n

Last week, it was announced that Morning Musume ’15 are doing the theme to the new PreCure movie, Pretty Cure All Stars: Haru no Carnival♪. The song, Ima Koko Kara, will be featured in the movie itself (starring the PreCure girls), as well as being the ending theme (which will feature MM’15).

It will also be one of the A-sides to their 58th single, Seishun Kozou wa Naiteiru/Yuugure wa Ameagari/Ima Koko Kara, to be released on April 15th.

10991350_10152781930295958_4000177109375991754_nIikubo Haruna, Ishida Ayumi, and Oda Sakura will also appear in the movie as fairy characters they designed themselves.

My Thoughts?

In case it isn’t obvious from the sliiiight theme of my blogging/artist “persona,” I’m a major Magical Girl enthusiast. While PreCure is something I’m on and off about (which might change, due to my Toei tokusatsu-loving friend), I’m willing to throw my hat into any good MG series. Lilpri is an example: I came for the S/mileage and stayed for the fairytale-themed Magical Girl idol action, especially since the themes harkened back to the early “Magical Girl Idol” archetype as typified by the likes of Creamy Mami. (A more recent example is Mermaid Melody Pichi Pichi Pitch, which I got into not long after getting into H!P I might add.) Then there’s also Momoiro Clover Z’s tie-in with Sailor Moon Crystal that made me reconsider my waned interest in the group (though I’m scared the Magi-Kat Curse might befall them).

Needless to say, I’m psyched about Morning Musume doing a tie-in to PreCure. This is especially since PreCure is an established property with the potential of introducing MM to a even greater audience. Sure, it’s just a movie and it wasn’t the first time H!P did a PreCure tie-in (the first was, incidentally, Berryz Koubou with Gag 100 Kaibun Aishite Kudasai, hence the anime liner art), but this can open doors.

I hope this leads to bigger and better things with the Morning Girls!

Stay pretty sweet,
Magi-Kat

♥☮♪

Sources:

3 Responses to Morning PreCure

  1. […] Morning PreCure – Magi-Kat presents “Morning Meteora” Kat shares her opinion on Morning Musume becoming involved with a magical girl anime. […]

    Like

  2. […] While the other a-sides’ PVs have yet to arrive (as of this writing), I can say that I have high hopes regarding Morning Musume ’15 and this tie-in. (This should come to no surprise if you’ve read my thoughts on the announcement.) […]

    Like

  3. […] addition, to commemorate #MagicalGirlMarch, I talked a bit about the PreCure tie-in. This would end up becoming among the most popular posts of the year, coming in at #5 with 85 views […]

    Like

Have something to say?

