“What Basic Premises Inform Your Blog?” A 2014 Perspective

Years ago, Ray sent out a question to the blogging community: “What Basic Premises Inform Your Blog?

While you have can read the original version of my answer here, I thought that in the spirit of a revisited post before, I’d give this one a try. As usual, the old answers are in italics while the new answers in normal font.

The original post was notable as it was the debut of the “Magi-Kat Theory Edition,” meant for “my personal opinions and such.” Like before, I welcome anyone to try to answer these questions yourself. Who knows? It may help you in your blogging. (You’re also welcome to change it up, especially since some of the questions reference blogs that appear to be nonexistent these days.)

  • Do you treat Japanese music the same as other music you listen to? Why or why not?

2007: Yes, I do. I judge not by the language of the musical work but by the quality of the music itself.

2014: Same as above.

  • What genres in Japanese music do you write about? Girl groups, hip hop, visual kei, rock, Johnny’s? Are there any genres you enjoy but don’t blog about? Why is that? (Aural Candy was originally going to blog about both Jrock and pop music, but narrowed it down – to her benefit, as it gave her blog a more distinct identity.)

2007: I mainly write about girl groups (particularly the Hello! Project and its lead group). I also wish to write about Linkin Park (hence the naming of my blog, “Morning Meteora“), among other genres like dance music, Shibuya-kei, and Europop, but I’ve never really gotten to it. It’s partially out of fear of scaring what little readers I’ll get since Linkin Park is considered “uncool” to people (then again, Morning Musume isn’t taken that seriously in Japanese pop culture nowadays anyway).

2014: I primarily write about girl groups (read: idols), though I am not afraid of dipping into other territory. The “Meteora” part of the title now refers to my “meteoric” ambitions with the blog. (Plus, I’m a bit of a magic/Magical Girl freak with a soft spot for Romance languages – and Latin. In addition to referring to a monastery (which was the namesake of the album), it is the Italian word for “meteor.”) As mentioned, I like all sorts of other genres, but I tend to blog about idols because it’s what I feel most comfortable with on this blog. Plus, there’s another reason, but that’ll come in due time. 😉 (See also my answer to a later question.)

  • What most appeals to you regarding Japanese music? Is it the music, the image, the actual idols, the marketing?

2007: It’s a subtle mix of all four but it’s mainly the actual idols and (more importantly) the music!

2014: Again, everything – but it’s first and foremost the music.

  • What aspects do you like to write about most? Is it the music, the videos, live performances, still images? Why do you think that’s the case?

2007: I try to write about as many aspects as possible but it’s mainly about the music and the videos. Why? That’s the reason I like a certain group. Heck, I’m a music lover.

2014: Same as above.

  • What writers or other creative people influence how you blog? What do they write about and how does that connect to what you blog about?

2007: All bloggers in general really. They write about what they want while I do that. I regret I don’t have merchandise and is not exactly a true “wota” (I consider myself borderline) but what connects me to their blogs is the pure fanlove and passion they put into their blogs.

2014: Again, same as above. While my idol fandom (or “wotadom” as some prefer) is more “casual” than some, I am influenced and connected to all they write about through the pure fanlove and passion. I write how I feel, just as they do.

  • What other writing projects do you pursue or want to pursue? Does this influence your blogging in any way?

2007: Hmmm… I write stories and sometimes poems that are posted on my deviantART page. I’m also taking a Creative Writing class at school (which will turn into Journalism later on in the year) but I dunno if it influences my style. I just write whatever comes to my mind and my opinion in terms of said subject really. I also write little somethings on a certain topic (like the voice and its role in wota society in “Voice of the Hello! Project Idol”).

2014: I’m currently working on a little project of my own that is slated for a 2015 launch. Again, I write whatever comes to mind, heart, body, and soul. In fact, see my 2014 answer to the next question, which was originally part of this answer.

  • If you inhabit a specific niche – a news-focused site like Some Boys! Blog, or download-focused blog like J-MuNet – how do you decide what to share? It’s impossible to cover everything, so how do you sort through it?

2007: How do I decide? I haven’t really gotten to that. I hope to be news and opinion-based in my blogging.

2014: Let me answer this question with how I have categorized my posts: M3P3 (the P3 standing for the more familiar “Ping Pong Pinpoint”) is mostly bullet-listed news blurbs, M3 Meditation is my deep introspections, and M3 Theory is critical, theoretic analyses. Thanks to a certain Morning Musume ’14 song, a new companion category has been created: M3 Irony, home to (as I put it) “the best in magically meteoric snark.”

  • Who do you imagine your audience to be? What do you feel is your relationship with your audience? Do you always give what they want, or do you ever feel the need to throw curveballs or even antagonize your readers?

2007: I imagine that my audience, due to my focus on Hello! Project and Morning Musume, would be fellow fans/wotas (hence my reluctance to put commentary on Linkin Park’s latest video, even if only one person commented on a blog entry – and it’s on a ranking!). However, I mainly and try to imagine my audience as loyal readers who will understand and respect my blogging, no matter what subject it is.

What I’d want with my audience in terms of relationship is good, civil, friendly terms. I hope to express what I want to express without antagonizing anyone – I’m a peaceful soul who wishes no trouble. After all, there’s enough of it in the real world so why bring it on a blog? (Then again, I’m getting myself in trouble by even blogging in the first place! Blogging, no matter what subject, is a risky thing to do. Heck, being on the Internet is risky, especially if you’re my age or younger!).

2014: Akin to the above: Due to the fact I primarily write about Japanese idols (and H!P), I imagined my audience as such. I do hope to provide some insight into the world of idol fandom/wotadom, which was one reason I revived this blog to begin with. Unfortunately, life aside, I had gotten a bit bogged down with the “newsy” aspects of blogging. (Then again, these few months are going to be a little newsy and retroaction-oriented, due to the fact I’m making up for years of inactivity and the major changes happening in idoldom — and the big milestones hit with M3 as a whole, even as a mossy stone.)

  • Are there any specific writerly / bloggerly tropes you employ? I rely heavily on screencaps, and often tailor my blogging around them. YODC and The Mind both use eyecandy images with little text, though the tone is quite different. (YODC is more wink-wink nudge-nudge, The Mind is more respectful.) Most everyone uses YouTube or Veoh to varying degrees. (I don’t, though I’ll load up my own videos.) What brought you to that trope, what do you do to keep that technique lively?

2007: I try to be informative with my entries and give my own spin. Unfortunately, as long as I’ve been on the Net, I’ve never had a really proper “blog” (the journal on my deviantART journal doesn’t count) so it’s going to take me a while to break out of my shell. Why do I keep thinking of Kamei Eri when I say this?

I also employ videos via YouTube. Why? That’s what I’ve seen and I’m too much of a chicken to screencap everything =/.

2014: Perhaps it’s the retrospection, years of RPing and being on dA, and the fact I’ve been reading blogs during my hiatus that influenced my style. I eventually learned how to screencap and even make animated GIFs so those are major steps up.

I also use YouTube for obvious reasons: the fact UFA, H!P, and anything related have official accounts so anything save for some early stuff can be easily found there.

On a visual note, I’ve also found my own distinctive niche decorating illustrating my posts with my own art. In the future, I may showcase other hidden gems among the fandom (I found a great fanpic of the Berryz on Tumblr around the time of their announcement) and possibly even open myself for potential artistic opportunities in the idol fandom. (It helped immensely that I created a character who is pretty much the new unofficial mascot of the blog: May-May the Idolpire.

What does she has to do with the blog and idols? Well for one, she’s directly inspired by the Idolminded Community. I kid you not!

Just look at her. Do you get it? Those soulless eyes.
As mentioned, until I say otherwise, she’s the unofficial mascot of the blog. (The character formerly known as Magi-Kat was meant as a general mascot anyway. May-May, however, is a fitting replacement. I mean, she’s an idol vampire — an idolpire. Again, she was inspired by the Idolminded Community so you IMers only have yourselves to blame for the unleashing of this… this…

Me: Die, monster! you don’t belong in this world.
May-May: It is not by my hands that I was given flesh. I was call here by humans who wished to pay me tribute.
Me: Tribute?! You steal men’s souls and make them your slaves!
May-May: Perhaps the same can be said of all religions.
Me: Your words are as empty as your soul! Mankind ill needs a savior such as you.
May-May: What is a man? *throws a glass of wota/idol blood* A miserable little pile of secrets! But enough talk! Have at you!

Yeah. *gives you glowsticks dipped in holy water and leis of garlic flowers*)

Anyway, that’s that for the survey. I didn’t expect that last answer to take over so much. Sheesh! (It’s true though.) Here’s to the rest of M3’s future! Be sure to eat that Italian cooking though. Mmmmm, garlic knots.

Remember, your body is your temple and the best way to protect it is to ward off evil spirits… and don’t invite a vampire in. Once they get in, they can come in and out whenever they please.

― Magi-Kat

P.S.

Want me to direct you to the nearest donor or bank? You seem to have lost a lot of blood there.
Do I need to call Atsuko Van Helsing?

P.S.S. My apologies to the 48G Universe.

2 Responses to “What Basic Premises Inform Your Blog?” A 2014 Perspective

  1. […] “What Basic Premises Inform Your Blog?” A 2014 Perspective – Magi-Kat presents “Morning Meteora” Kat returns to an older post to see how much has changed – and how much has not. I’m biased, of course, but I found it entertaining. […]

    Like

  2. […] November was marked by posts inspired by the world at large. The first was a surprise review dedicated to one of my favorite netizens, followed by a survey post. […]

    Like

Have something to say?

