The Sun’s Smile

BE HAPPY.
BE ALL RIGHT.
Ai Araba It’s All Right.

Such slogans to take to heart.

A few nights ago was a terrible night for me and I’d rather not get into the details. As I tried to regain some normalcy, a song popped into my head (as usual). However, it was what song kept returning to me that made it so special and blog-worthy.

Allow me to direct your attention to a tweet I made earlier in the year that basically sums this up:

The congrats was for topping the Weekly Oricon Charts for the 4th consecutive time with the release of that aforementioned single.
The “thanks” was for about eleven years of making my life brighter, which I’ll talk about in more detail in the very near future. (It’ll be a treat for the cheapskates ones who didn’t make the pilgrimage to New York.)

More than any other song released this year (especially for MM), I go back to this song. I think I subconsciously made it my song for 2014.

Now, I’m sure you’re wondering why this song touches me so*. See, it may not be too obvious from my posts (especially when I turn on the snark, which is a good thing a certain category exists), but I’m normally a sunny person who loves to smile. My favorite pony may be Princess Luna, Twilight Sparkle, and Sunset Shimmer (she counts, darnit)**, but I seem to be everyone’s Pinkie Pie in my ability and desire to make others happy. I’m also like that in how being sad/angry/etc is something that drags me down. I know it’s perfectly normal to feel that way, but I don’t like it and would go to the ends of the earth to be happy again (partially because I’m unbearable when I’m upset and one reason I put my all into everything is my fear of disappointing people. It’s one reason the blog’s been super-active this year).

In other words, I’m a smiley person whose smile might as well be the sunshine. Speaking of sunshine, the solar imagery touches me on a very personal level because as a Leo, I am ruled by the Sun. With all of the bad things happening in the world, it’s easy to forget to smile. It is especially so when disaster strikes in a very personal core of life. However, I look to my Skype profile and see the quote from Day Break Illusion I have as my PM:

“Even if the Sun is hidden by a lone cloud, a single beam of light can chase away the darkness. That is the Sun’s smile.”

That is the philosophy I try to take to life. (It barely helps I’m prone to fits of intense sadness or deep hyper-introversion during the colder seasons. Barely helps I live in North Jersey and thanks to the recent Super Bowl, everyone in the country knows how… fun North Jersey winters can be.)

On second thought, going through the posts, there was one song that somewhat dethroned “Egao no Kimi” as the Ear Worm of H!P for me during the summer season (more than the contenders from Berryz and S/mileage)…


Heaven help us when they announce their indefinite hiatus. Yes, when, because the Berryz pretty much opened the door.

Writing this post… helped me feel better. (It helps that I finally went to sleep that night and listened to those songs ad nauseum as I wrote this.) That’s the power of idols after all, to cheer you up. As the Spice Girls put it:

When you’re feeling sad and low,
We will take you where you gotta go.
Smiling, dancing, everything is free.
All you need is positivity.

See you, Space Cowboys and Girls! Until next time, Magical Meteorites and Earthlings.
―Magi-Kat

*I know I’ve already touched on this song before so consider this an “expansion pack.”
**And this is official ponies. (Yes, I’m counting Sunset Shimmer, even if she’ll never appear on the show proper in pony form.) I’d tell who’s my favorite “fandom” pony, but I don’t want a war to erupt.

♥☮♪

3 Responses to The Sun’s Smile

  1. […] The Sun’s Smile – Magi-Kat presents “Morning Meteora” Kat finds solace and sunshine in a Morning Musume song. […]

    Like

  2. […] writing about my Morning Musume fandom and trying to raise awareness for a little-known UFA acts, seeking solace in music as it’s time to face the change (ch-ch-changes) and accepting my madness. I tried to work on […]

    Like

  3. […] community (and the C-Pop/K-Pop communities too) that worries me. People look to these videos for comfort, leisure, and inspiration. Plus, reason we flocked to these channels was because it was a lot […]

    Like

Have something to say?

