Requiescat in pace et #PrayForLadiesCore

Since many offered their thoughts on this, perhaps it’s time for me to add my two cents.

Let’s start with what we know: On a rainy September 3rd at 1:20am Korea time, the van carrying Kpop group Ladies’ Code was traveling on the Yeongdong Expressway in the direction of Incheon. The van lost traction and ran into a protective wall in the vicinity of the Singal Intersection. 22-year-old EunB lost her life in the collision due to injuries while two bandmates, Sojung and Rise, were in serious condition. Sojung is out of surgery and is in the ICU while Rise is still in surgery. There were initial reports that the driver died, but they were later proven false.

The other passengers―including LC members Ashley and Zuny― sustained minor injuries.

To further add some new info (since some delays caused this to be posted later than I wished so if it looks weird, forgive me), it was revealed that one of the back wheels came off from the vehicle, setting the stage for disaster. The manager was also reportedly charged with involuntary manslaughter in relation to the tragedy (though someone tweeted earlier today Wednesday (where I am) that police were investigating).

The wake and funeral were held Thursday, featuring heartfelt words from EunB’s mother and her bandmates were spotted there with misty eyes. (Indeed, how could an eye be dry?) There were reportedly other stars in attendance as well.

Sojung finally awakened, but she is still unaware of what had happened to her bandmate… yet. Rise’s condition is still critical is still in surgery and it was said that there’s a small chance she’ll survive.

(If there is any information that is out of place, feel free to let me know. I go through great pains to make sure that my reporting is accurate no matter what I write, especially during times like these.)

Regardless, there was an outpouring of grief from the Kpop community. Even some in the Jpop community (myself included) opened their hearts during this black-ribbon time.

See, I found out the news through Twitter of all things (which is one reason this post is rather Tweet-heavy) — I was lurking around and checking a timeline for @Hiveworks when I saw #RIPEunB as the top trending… trend. Usually, I don’t pay attention to such things and it wasn’t the first time idolmindedness trended on Twitter (see “JKT48 Bubar,” which dumbfounded me to the point of making me tweet about it… only to find it’s nothing). However, curiosity got the better of me, especially since this “EunB” looked suspiciously like a Kpop artist… and I hoped it was another sick joke. As I read through the tweets and gotten an idea at what had happened, thoughts came into my head.

“This is awful.”
“I can’t imagine what would have happened if it was a J-idol, especially if an H!P one.”
“Thank God no H!P member died while in the Project.”

Minutes later, I realized that in the haze brought about in my sleeplessness, I forgot about a similar incident that had repercussions upon the group itself.

Raise your hand if you are familiar with the name “Yanagihara Hiromi.” (Kpop fans reading this, you are forgiven.)

Credit to the folks of the Hello! Project Wikia. Gomenne.

Credit to the folks of the Hello! Project Wikia.

On July 16, 1999, Yanagihara was tragically killed in a car accident one week before the group’s first release, Futari no Hokkaido. Yanagihara was reportedly driving alone near her home in Nakasatsunai, Hokkaido at 5:00 pm, when her car, a Mitsubishi Pajero, swerved off the road, and crashed into a ditch. She was thrown from the vehicle which then flipped on top of her, trapping her beneath.

Yanagihara was rushed to a Obihiro hospital by ambulance, where she later died at 7:10 pm. The official cause of death was a combination of tension pneumothorax and acute heart failure due to her injuries.

― Source: Hello! Project Wikia

Sure, she was a different case and it’s absolutely gauche of me to bring up something like that at a time like this (especially as new revelations distance the two events from one another). However, if it’ll help me to understand the pain Kpop fans are going through now (even if the incident happened years before I was even aware of it), so be it.

Regardless, my heart, thoughts, and prayers are with Ladies’ Code, their fans, and the entire Kpop community. Just as I did with the AKB fandom during that horrid incident, I’ll express solidarity with the Lavely (did I use that term right?). Cheers on them for sweetly honoring their fallen idol’s wish by taking “I’m Fine Thank You” to the #1 spot in the charts.

To see a life taken away at a young age (I’m not too far from EunB’s age myself) is horrible and frightening. If anything, it makes it worse because then comes the realization that she still had so much to give to the world… and makes her time on this earth so short.

RIP, EunB. Requiescat in pace et #PrayforLadiesCode.

https://twitter.com/ultravioIent/status/506944281010253824

Amor et pax,
―Magi-Kat

P.S. #StayStrongLadiesCode #PleaseAwakeRise #PrayforRise

P.S.S. For more info:

♥☮♪

4 Responses to Requiescat in pace et #PrayForLadiesCore

  1. […] Requiescat in pace et #PrayForLadiesCore – Magi-Kat presents “Morning Meteora” Kat shares tweets regarding the tragedy, as well as the closest thing to such a thing happening to Hello! Project. […]

    Like

  2. […] songs and Q&A*” post like I had wished (which might’ve been for the best, given current events), as for the cute idolpire on the […]

    Like

  3. […] appropriate that I talk about this around the time of the one-year anniversary of Ladies’ Code’s tragic accident. May the Hello! Project J-idol fandom be spared these […]

    Like

  4. […] It’s awful knowing that Country Musume’s first lineup change was the result of a death, watching Ladies’ Code succumb to the horrid twist of fate, Tsukimiya Karen having also entered the realm of dreams close to […]

    Like

Have something to say?

