Love is Always Inside of You for Idols Wouldn’t Normally Last 10 Years, Right?

In this post, we celebrate the Berryz decennial in Ai wa Itsumo Kimi no Naka ni / Fuutsu, Idol 10nen Yatterannai Desho!?.

AwIKnNn_intro

First off, it’s the shining power of Ai wa Itsumo Kimi no Naka ni. At first, the title suggests a happy-go-lucky song. However, upon a listen and a peek at the PV, we see the seriousness of the matter. For reasons known to me and a select a few, this song has become an new possible addition to the never-ending list of songs befitting my project. (Depending on things, you’ll see it starting late 2015.)

On another note, the outfits remind me of a song I had gotten addicted to a few weeks ago (by the time you read this) so forgive me for the following:

The Love Police, they are inside of my heart.

The Love Police, they’ve found it tearing apart.

The Love Police, they’re coming to arrest me. Oh no~!

On that note, this may end up being the theme for this A-side’s part of the post so major apologies.

AwIKnNn_ss1

AwIKnNn_ss2a

The suspects have been found. The Love Police are coming to arrest. Oh no!

AwIKnNn_ss3

More suspects are found! High-tail it out of here! They’re the judge and jury all in one.

AwIKnNn_ss8

Sailor Moon always did preach the values of love and justice.

AwIKnNn_ss5

This would make a nice (de)motivator if I knew how.

On that note, I don’t think Risako fanboys will survive the night after this.

AwIKnNn_ss6

Miyabi: Talk is cheap and those rumors aren’t very nice. Make more slander and worm your way out of the guilt in your heart further and I’ll make sure you won’t survive the night!

AwIKnNn_ss7

They’re looking for me every single night.

Musically speaking, it has a slight electro-flavor with a hint of symphonic with the heroic strings (unless those too are synthesized). It starts out serious with the orchestral flavor sprinkled out a la a movie scene. It then divulges into good old 2010s Hello! Techno in the middle of the first verse.


FI10YD_titlecard

Before I go into the song itself, I must preface it with my words abut the Berryz and their milestone. Due to when I came into the H!P fandom (late 2003), the girls were still H!P Kids (along with their C-utie counterparts). Most I’ve seen/heard of them were in 4KIDS for the Mini Moni movie (in which half of them were future Berryz). When the Berryz were announced, I was excited and paid attention from the beginning. It was years before I saw the PVs so up until mid-2007, my H!P experiences were primarily of an auditory nature. I would repeatedly check back to YesAsia and read the comments on the releases while listening to the songs. I remember blasting “BERRY FIELDS” repeatedly while having this odd desire to consume Berry Sprite Remix… thanks to the song. I remember being a little blue when Maiha left (but it took me a while to figure out whose voice was who because, as mentioned, my PV experience was sporadic until 2007). There are times where I’d wonder what would happen if Maiha didn’t leave – and I didn’t fully understand the circumstances of her departure.

Then… I stopped listening to the Berryz because there was this grating voice (or voices) that irritated me to no end. I would later find out those were the voices of Momoko and Risako. I would be in and out of the fandom until… relatively recently.

Doing the P3 series allowed me to see how far the Berryz had progressed in the years since my falling out. My fandom was on and off, but I can’t deny that the Berryz earned every bit of praise and milestone epicness they had found so far. It was a long and winding road, but 10 years really is an unusual amount of time to be an idol (even in H!P terms, as the many Morning Musume graduates can tell you). So congrats on 10 years, Berryz.

I wondered why didn’t MM do the same thing for their anniversary, but circumstances were/are different.

Now the question is: What now? (Also, who else will get this treatment down the line?)

Now, Fuutsu, Idol 10nen Yatterannai Desho!? begins with some minor beeps of electronics before heading into a mid-tempo mild-manneredness, as if to show the contemplative nature of the song.

There have been cries about Berryz eventually disbanding or graduating, due to the mood of the song (read the YouTube comments). Me, I’m all the more willing to ride along for a while (especially given the tours and global exposure).

There are some who may find the horse sounds strange, but these YouTube comments may help:

For the horse sound I find it so weird and off-key but in the other way the horse sound in asian culture signify to a fighting spirit so I think they want to show us that they still have a power and want to fight!!

—jinlian jung

For the horse sound, a fan I know said “maybe it’s because 2014 is the year of the horse”, and I really think it can be that! They don’t disturb me, they are even kind of cool and funny! It brings a lighter mood to this song!

—miyabihyatt

The PV has our decennials in a room, a stage with a room plastered with pics of their past singles. At intermittent intervals, we watch our girls reminisce about the “good old days.”

Overall, the single is full of emotion: Between the serious Ai wa Itsumo Kimi no Naka ni and the more celebratory (if pensive) Fuutsu, Idol 10nen Yatterannai Desho!?, we see a complete picture of what it’s like for these idols to reach 10 years as a collective unit. Let’s hope the single sells well*, helped by the epic first A-side.

– Magi-Kat

*As of this writing, the single has reportedly sold 45,459 copies, 44,219 in one week alone¹². It is currently the highest-selling Berryz single to date with more possible chart information to come, due to its recent release date.

3 Responses to Love is Always Inside of You for Idols Wouldn’t Normally Last 10 Years, Right?

  1. […] Love is Always Inside of You for Idols Wouldn’t Normally Last 10 Years, Right? – Magi-Kat presents “Morning Meteora” Kat looks at Berryz’s tenth anniversary single, and along the way shares her own experience with the group. […]

    Like

  2. […] it seems that many of the A-sides are of a deeper or more pensive nature than usual: Toki wo Koe, Futsuu, Love is Always Inside You, Kaze ni Fukarete… I’m probably reading too much into these things, especially in light […]

    Like

  3. […] and her public. Towa no Uta was a lighthearted celebration of their years (far more upbeat than Fuutsu 10nen, that’s for […]

    Like

Have something to say?

